Dilemma of an Overweight Female Citizen of Pakistan

fat

‘Shouldn’t you lose some weight?’

‘So how far into your weight loss program are you?’

‘Ah. You have gained some weight.’

‘Hm. You look fat.’

So on and so forth. Yes, these ever consuming questions and statements that plague everyone who meets me. So dear random citizen (or relative) who is concerned by my overweight appearance, this is dedicated to you. But please take note that every time you tell me how I need to lose weight, you lose respect in my eyes.

I honestly appreciate your constant remarks about my weight. I get it. You are concerned for my well-being. But please elaborate on how losing weight would be so beneficial for me? So I get it when you have a normal weight the chances of you getting cardiovascular diseases is low and there are a million health benefits. But how can you tell by looking at me that I am not physically active? You cannot. You know why? Because even though I am overweight I workout 150 minutes every week which is the required amount. Do you? I am physically fit and do not have any disease currently. Alhamdulillah.fat

Furthermore, physical activity in itself is beneficial for mental health. I agree. It makes you intelligent, releases stress, and makes you happier. But I am physically active and I eat just as much; the reason I don’t lose weight that fast. I love food, period. I am not giving that up just so I could lose a few inches around my hips and my waist.

And if that isn’t really the reason why you want me to lose weight then what is? Would losing weight make me look more ‘beautiful’? Is that why you want me to lose weight? Because if that is the reason then let me say this; beauty is subjective. It changes from person to person, place to place and era to era; what might be beautiful for you might not be for me or someone else across the world. If you follow the set standards that society has defined as ‘beautiful’ then we can’t be on good terms. Those standards are shallow and unintelligible. Being skinny and fair shouldn’t be the only measures of beauty.

I think I am beautiful the way I am, thank you very much. I do not support or endorse the unintelligible shallow society’s standards. I create my own standards. Allah created me with a broad bone structure. He gave me hips wider than yours. I don’t have a problem with it and you shouldn’t either.

