Ask Yourself Why

We believe in so many things or people in life. We like and dislike many things or people for many reasons. We hold such beliefs close to our hearts. They are based on certain facts and experiences that are unique to each one of us.

The question of ‘what you believe in’ is not as important as the question of ‘why you believe in it’

I just recalled an incident a couple of years back. I was friends with this guy and he was an atheist. I was at that stage in life when I was struggling with my religious identity. I wanted to know why I was a Muslim. It was very important for me. To gain insight into this question I asked him a similar question because he seemed like an intellectual person. I asked him why he was an atheist the conversation became a bit long and I asked so many why’s I guess he felt I was questioning in faith-or rather faithlessness.

So imagine asking the following questions:

What religion do you follow?

What political party do you support?

I say I believe in Islam. I believe that PTI should be the leading party. But imagine adding the ‘why’ to the same interrogative sentence. Why do I believe in Islam? Why do I believe PTI should be the leading party? After you listen to someone’s answer to the question why with an open mind you will develop a deeper understanding for the person and their choices. You will learn to respect them maybe, depending on how convincing the argument is. But the key is having an open mind to opposing ideas.

We often DON’T ask OURSELVES the ‘why’. It is important for the critical thinking skill that we lack very often and do not bother to imply by asking why do we do what we do or why do we believe in what we believe in.

Self-evaluation is very uncommon and only few know how precious this gem is for personal growth and development. The problem in Pakistan is that our education system does not focus on a life skill like this which will help in the intellectual and spiritual of an individual but it will also develop and understanding and compassion for the people in society.

Leave a Reply

